Gary Papa Battling Cancer For Third Time

6ABC sports director Gary Papa, 54, revealed to an awards dinner Thursday night that he is battling prostate cancer for the third time.

Papa was initially diagnosed in 2004, then again in 2006.

Here is the link to the column written about Papa by Phil Heron, editor of the Delaware County Daily Times.

A Channel 6 spokesperson wrote in an email, “Gary continues to battle cancer and we continue to love and support him.”

19 responses to “Gary Papa Battling Cancer For Third Time

  1. I, too, saw him on 6abc last night and couldn’t belive what I was seeing. Gary Papa without his hair yet again.

    Hang in there, Gary. You have a lot of people pullin’ for ya.

  2. Ever the joker, he presented a report on the quarterback controversy. He commented, “As you can see, I’m pullin’ my hair out here!”

    Gary’s one of the best. I wish him well.

  3. Hang in there Gary.

  4. He has been thru so much and I can’t believe he’s going to have to do it again. Let’s just hope that he pulls thru as he has in the past.

    Gary’s on-air presence and interaction with Gardner is top notch and so natural.

    We’re with you Gary!

  5. gary you are one of a kind:) love you, and i KNOW you’ll pull through…

  6. Just got back from Being Overseas for 5 long years. When I turned on 6ABC and saw Gary Papa, I couldn’t believe it. You are in my prayers Big Guy. You’re all I have ever known when it comes to getting “Real” Philly Sports. I like Jamie and Keith very much to. What happen to Scott Palmer?
    If anyone is a “Fightn’ Phil”, it’s YOU PAPA MAN!

  7. Gary,

    I want you to know your in our prayers. I have cancer too, so I know how hard it is. God never gives us more than we can handle. Take care and God bless you and your family.

  8. For the third time!!

  9. JANE MCCARTY-OWENS

    DEAR GARY,
    YOU ARE IN MY PRAYERS. I WILL PRAY TO THE CHAPLET OF DIVINE MERCY NOVENA FOR YOU. THE REQUEST NEVER FAILS..PLEASE HAVE A PEACEFUL CHRISTMAS AND I PRAY A HEALTHY NEW YEAR YOU ARE TRULY A VERY COURAGEOUS MAN. TAKE CARE AND MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND MAKE YOU CANCER FREE. JANE

  10. Once again our hopes for a speedy recovery. Kudos to GARY for his strength and Fortitude Bless him for continuing to work through this ordeal.

  11. Georgia from Southampton

    Gary,
    We all love you and your contageous smile. All our best and strength to you in clearing the illness from your body. You have done this in the past and with all the love we have for you in Philly and the the Met Area, you will be fine soon . God bless you

  12. God will bless you and see you through this once agail. You have my prayers daily. God speed

  13. A word of encouragement I have know a friend who has been battling cancer since 2001 and looks great, God bless

  14. I’ll keep you in my prayers Gary – we need you around!!

  15. you are a strong man & i give you lots of credit for still doing your job. I think i would be in bed crying. You are going to be ok. I can tell by your great spirit. God bless you!

  16. Mr. Papa,
    My family and I are praying for you and wish you the best. Your wife and I graduated together and I met you at our reunion about 5 yrs ago and you were very kind to me. Be strong and happy.
    God Bless

  17. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family as you go through this difficult time. You are such an inspiration, with your candor and your laughter. I’ve been an avid watcher for so many years and it pains me to know how difficult this must be for you. You are such a courageous gy. May God bless you.

  18. Hang in Gary , I have laugh with you , cried with you, and you will beat this , you are a wonderful person , you are in my prayers.

  19. Gary, gives so muuch of his knowledge, time, personality, broadcasting skills and trust not only to professional sports people but to all
    college, high school , grammer school, cyo, and all philly neighborhhood organiaztions and
    clubs. And of of course on ABC’s 6 Action News.

    We sincerely recognize the love, sacrifice and compassion family members who provided
    the most needed support not only for Gary but all involved family members

    Gary, — Family, friends and admirers miss you and need you present be at The Phillies 2009 Philles Season Opener Sunday nightApril 5th.

    —– Gary to be recognized a Champion in Philadelphia –you have to be a a person who always gives his all, respects his peers and associates , his community and its people—we already lost Brian Dawkins, we don’t want to lose Gary Pappa

Leave a Reply

