Smerconish Personal Message

This is the mass email sent out by Michael Smerconish on Thursday:

As I have long planned, at the end of this year I will consolidate my two radio programs into one nationally syndicated program.  This is being announced today by my syndication partner, Dial Global.  In a simultaneous move, CBS Radio will announce that my home station in Philadelphia, The Big Talker WPHT, will carry my remaining program in the afternoons, along with an additional hour just for Philly.  I am very grateful to David Landau and Amy Bolton at Dial Global for making this a reality, as well as Marc Rayfield at CBS and my agent George Hiltzik.

TC and Greg will remain at my side.

Two years ago, I agreed to host both a morning and afternoon program for only a twenty-four month period.  I knew then that I could not sustain that level of commitment long-term.  I don’t know of anyone else in the country who is responsible for so much daily content.  In my case, in addition to two radio programs, I also write two weekly columns, appear daily on MSNBC, have published five books, and am at work on number six!   An additional and important consideration is that my wife and I are raising four children, one of whom has already graduated from college.  The days are flying by as our sons grow, and I relish the opportunity to spend more time with family.  I have zero regrets from the last two years, but as I expected, it is just too much and I am looking forward to applying a renewed sense of focus to one show daily.   I am also anxious to watch Phillies games beyond the 5th inning and no longer get up at 3:30 a.m.!

I have mixed emotions about this change only insofar as it might disappoint some morning show fans and disrupt your daily routine.  I hope that you will respect my decision.  It is as straightforward as I have just offered.  And I hope that wherever you reside, you will continue to listen to me as the national program continues to add markets.  In addition to Philadelphia, I can be heard in New York City, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Dallas, Tampa, Indianapolis, and a host of other cities and towns.  I can also report that come January, the radio program will be available on a podcast basis at Smerconish.com. 

One final thought.  I am trying to chart a new course for talk radio and the nation’s future.  For quite sometime I have been concerned that the climate in Washington is being shaped by an artificial presentation of attitudes on cable TV and talk radio.  As I argued in the Washington Post last summer, to view and to listen is to become convinced that there are only two diametrically opposed philosophical approaches to the issues. And yet, working daily in both mediums, I often think that the only people I meet who see the world entirely through liberal or conservative lenses are the hosts with whom I rub shoulders.  Buying gas or groceries or attending back-to-school nights, I speak to people for whom the issues are a mixed bag; they are liberal on some, conservative on others, middle of the road on the rest. But politicians don’t take their cues from middle America.  Politicians emulate the world of punditry.  I intend to continue working to change that by offering a daily conversation without seeking to have the final word.   

Tonight, I continue with my weeklong guest hosting duties for Chris Matthews on MSNBC’s “Hardball” and hope you will watch at 5 and 7 p.m. eastern time.   

Thank you so much for listening to my radio program.  Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

3 responses to “Smerconish Personal Message

  1. Dear Michael ~

    I have been a new and recent listener (12 months)to your morning radio program on WHPT. I have enjoyed your show…..Although,I do agree with you on some issues, I do not always agree. I listen to hear other ideas and debate among the issues, however, I will no longer be a listener.

    I do realize that each of us has to do what is best for us and our families and I understand your desire to consolidate your two radio programs, but I am disappointed that in order to accomodate your schedule, that Sean Hannity and Glenn Beck have been cancelled. According to the Philadelphia Inquirer, WHPT wanted to accomodate you….so they cancelled the other programs and shifted the line up. I am disappointed that they felt the need to cancel Sean and Glenn instead of giving them a different time slot.

    I realize that CBS is the makes the ultimate decision, but it disappoints me that this was their decision and that you may be affected by it. I realize that I am only one listener, but I have heard others expressing similar feelings.

    I wish you well on your new schedule.
    No longer tuning in…
    Joyce

  2. Barbara A. Trauger

    Michael, I will miss you in the A.M. BUT there are other stations I will tune into. Especially music. What I am so very happy to hear is that I will now have my #1 show to listen to in the afternoon. FINALLY, an alternative. Good Luck and God Bless all of you.

  3. More MS bs!!!!!

Leave a Reply

